The November meeting of the Virginia Section will be held in virtual format on November 12, 2020.   The meeting will be at James Madison University in Harrisonburg with Dr. Thomas DeVore as the host. The speaker will be Dr. Christine Hughey. Her topic will be “Beer Processomics: Mass spectral molecular monitoring of volatile and nonvolatile compounds in beer throughout the brewing process.”   Find more information in the November Bulletin Newsletter.  


On April 9th, 1915 the Virginia Section was established by the American Chemical Society. Our section is located in Virginia and is one of the 184 local sections of the American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society. For a list of the counties and cities of Virginia that constitute our section, click here.

The Virginia Local Section serves the community by advancing chemistry and communicating its impact on people’s lives. Our Mission is to inspire, educate, develop, and connect Virginia chemists and the community for the benefit of Earth and its people.

The section fulfills its mission by promoting public awareness of chemistry, being involved in community outreach programs and working with chemistry students and STEM programs to enhance scientific awareness and communicate the value of chemistry in our society. We provide networking opportunities and mentoring experiences to connect chemists working in government, academics and industry to strengthen and serve the local chemistry community. The Virginia Section has a rich history of many activities and events it has supported to promote the chemical sciences throughout the past 100 years. We need your passion and dedication to drive success for the next 100 years.

The publications of the Virginia Section are available within “The Bulletin” menu item. The Bulletin is published monthly from September through April each year. The Bulletin is the main publication for local sections meetings, special events and news.

The executive officers and committees chairs contact information are listed in the menu item, Executive Committee. The Virginia Section has several active committees that bring chemistry to the community. The general description of the focus of each committee is posted under the Committees menu item. Help the Virginia Section by serving on one of our committees or volunteering. Engagement provides opportunities for networking and development. To get more information, volunteer your services, or make suggestions, contact the Chair of the section, Joe Pompano

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Virginia Section of the ACS, click here for more information.

Are you new this year to the Virginia Section of ACS?

Being new to Virginia Section of ACS can perhaps be a little intimidating. We want to help alleviate any uneasiness as you are introduced to this unfamiliar environment with warmth and help you get the most out of your experience. Our new “Buddy System” matches up new members with longer-standing members. Click on Activities and then New Member for the forms to sign up for this activity.

ACS-VA Outstanding Chemistry Student Awards 2020

In April 2020, the Section honored the outstanding senior chemistry majors from colleges and universities in Virginia with the 2020 Undergraduate Chemistry Student Award. This award consists of a certificate, a one-year membership in the ACS, and a copy of book “The Disappearing Spoon” by Sam Kean. The following students were mailed their Award books and certificates:

    1. Gabrielle Perkins, Bridgewater College
    2. Ruth Ann Beaver, College of William & Mary
    3. Leah Lapp, Eastern Mennonite University
    4. Charles A. Wolfe, Hampden-Sydney College
    5. Erin Krist, James Madison University
    6. Corri Calandra, Longwood University
    7. Bethany Taylor, Mary Baldwin University
    8. Gabrielle Nelson, Randolph Macon College
    9. Kyle Albert, Shenandoah University
    10. Allison Burgess, University of Mary Washington
    11. Dani Sklar, University of Richmond
    12. Connor Vincent Headley, University of Virginia
    13. Alan Branigan, Virginia Commonwealth University
    14. Jocelyn R. Brown, Virginia State University
    15. Charles Whitehead-Tillery, Virginia Union University